Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram
Link to our TikTok

Live Review: #TrustedForTaste Best Songs of The Week — July 30th

30 July 2021 | 12:54 pm | Parry Tritsiniotis

Ten new tunes you need in your life from this week including Skepta, IJALE, Bootleg Rascal, Sycco and heaps more.

Each week, we receive countless submissions of exciting new music, so we’ll be taking you through a weekly wrap up of all our favourite new tunes every Friday called #TrustedForTaste. Follow our Spotify playlist to never miss our updates!

Skepta - Nirvana (feat. J Balvin)

British rap pioneer Skepta has today released a surprise new EP, ‘ALL IN’ featuring names such as Kid Cudi, J Balvin and Teezee. It’s his first solo release since his 2019 highly acclaimed full length record, ‘Ignorance Is Bliss’. The lead track, ‘Nirvana’ with J Balvin is a clinical track, showcasing the rappers skills, production and of course undeniable swag. 

Plug into the latest music with our FREE weekly newsletter

IJALE - Like That

IJALE is back again with another breathtaking new single, ‘Like That’ featuring Melbourne’s rising Hip-Hop stars Yung Shōgun & ThatKidMaz. From tackling heavy personal themes on his previous work, IJALE flips the switch, providing a carefree Afro-infused banger. Via it’s feel, it’s obvious that the track was made with feel good energy at its roots, born from an impromptu session between Naarm/Melbourne’s 9 month lockdown. 

Bootleg Rascal - Therapy ft. Citizen Kay and MAXINE

Gold Coast based party starters Bootleg Rascal have today released another warm, feel good track by way of ‘Therapy’. With it they’ve recruited Australian rising stars, Maxine. and Citizen Kay. A swaying bass line combines perfectly with golden guitar strums, with each vocalist gliding effortlessly over the feel good beat. 

Sycco - Past Life

Rising Star Sycco has released her new EP, ‘Sycco’s First EP’ today. Its a project full of self discovery and introspection, highlighting both her growth as an artist and as an individual. Early standout from the tracklist is ‘Past Life’. An electronic infused trippy cut. The tracks percussion combines perfectly with Sycco’s unique vocal delivery. Blown out drums hold out the tracks chorus, creating an infectious experimental record. 

Milan Ring - Hide With You

Earlier this week Milan Ring returned with a new single and video for ‘Hide With You’. The track features R&B infused production, laying the platform for Milan Ring to reflect on mental health, searching for freedom and achieving healing. On the new single, Milan says, “‘Hide With You’ is about the search for freedom; hoping that one day, in the vastness of space & time, we find it together. This is a song I hold very dear to my heart and has provided great healing for me. I hope that it may do the same for others also.”

Georgia Maq & Alice Ivy - Someone Stranger

Naarm/Melbourne’s Georgia Maq has combined with Alice Ivy for a collaborative new single, ‘Someone Stranger’. The track sees two of Australia’s most prominent non-male artists join forces to create an uplifting and euphoric banger. ‘Someone Stranger’s sentiment features themes of loneliness, personal connection and its importance. Vocally and lyrically Maq ticks all the boxes, providing a ferocious yet inspiring delivery akin to the pop stars she’s inspired by. These sit perfectly under Alce Ivy’s production.

Turnstile - BLACKOUT

Multi-genre band Turnstile have released new single from their forthcoming record, ‘GLOW ON’ due to arrive on August 27. ‘BLACKOUT’ comes ahead of their US tour with Slowthai and $uicideboy$.  The track is accompanied by a black and white visual featuring animation from French designer, Alexis Jamet. As they continuously transcend genres, the band is one of the worlds most exciting, and ‘BLACKOUT’ adds another dimension to their already incredible work.

Toby Hobart - i think i’m in love with u

Up and coming rising star, Toby Hobart has released new single, ‘i think i’m in love with u’.The track is co-produced by James Angus who has worked with the likes of The Veronica’s, Example, Carmouflage Rose. The production gives the track a retro feel, blending pop and R&B into a tasteful crossover. It lays the perfect groundwork for Toby Hobart to do his thing vocally.

Pretty Girl - Sun Phase (DJ Life Remix)

Pretty Girl’s Sun Phase is a track that keeps on giving, with new remixes out from Human Movement and DJ Life. The second mix is from Naarm based, DJ Life who gives the track his slick percussive grooves, rolling bass, turning the euphoric track into a minimal, club focussed heater.

Banoffee - Idiot

Naarm/Melbourne based artist Banoffee has released a new single ‘Idiot’ alongside an accompanying music video directed by Phebe Shmidt. Autotuned vocals combine perfectly with a minimal and banging percussion line. Eerie metallic synths build tension in the track, exploding during its chrous. It’s spacey, atmospheric and demands attention, a self deprecating love track set in those ending moments of love.