Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram
Link to our TikTok

Live Review: #TrustedForTaste Best Songs of The Week — January 14th

14 January 2022 | 2:04 pm | Parry Tritsiniotis

Ten new tunes you need in your life from this week including BROODS, Mossy, George Alice, Dallas Woods, Anna Lunoe & more

Each week, we receive countless submissions of exciting new music, so we’ll be taking you through a weekly wrap up of all our favourite new tunes every Friday called #TrustedForTaste. Follow our Spotify playlist to never miss our updates!

MOSSY - Why Can’t You See? feat. Purient

MOSSY  has today released his new, seductive track, ‘Why Cant You See?’, taken from his forthcoming debut record, N2KY, set for release on the 18th of March. The track features electronic producer and vocalist Purient, the duo combining to create an electronic ballad duet, as they reflect on their partnership and its limits. 

Plug into the latest music with our FREE weekly newsletter

George Alice - Hold On

George Alice has today released her new single, ‘Hold On’, alongside the announcement of her debut EP, ‘Growing Pains’.  Produced by Japanese Wallpaper and Xavier Dunn, the track reflects on loss of all kinds and the power of time in the healing process. The themes are wrapped gorgeously in Alice’s warm vocal harmonies and softly tapped piano chords before a percussion eruption in its final third. 

grentperez - Absence Of You

Rising singer songwriter grentperez has today released his stunning new single, ‘Absence of You’. The track is the perfect soundtrack for anybody battling heartbreak, acting as the perfect pick me up when you’re deep in the trenches. 

Triple One - Mr Whippy feat. Nerve, Mulalo, Cult Shotta & lil golo

Triple One have today returned to their rap cypher roots with new single ‘Mr Whippy’ featuring a whose who of up and coming talent, including Nerve, Mulalo, Cult Shotta & lil golo. As per its name, the track samples the famous Mr Whippy ice-cream truck jingle, compared with blaring bass and rap percussion, turning into to an ice-cold trap banger, as the rappers deliver rampant bars and volatile word play. 

Dallas Woods - Grime

Noongar MC Dallas Woods has today returned with a highly anticipated new single, ‘Grime’. The single marks the beginning of Woods rolling out his mini-LP, ‘Julies Boy’, set for release on the 11th of March. The track is produced by Jerome Farah, and acts as a dance-floor party starter, as Woods fires ferocious bars over a two step beat.

BROODS - Like A Woman

Brother sister duo BROODS have today released the third single from their new studio album, ‘Like A Woman’, with the full record ‘Space Island’, set for release on the 18th of February. The track encompasses a dynamic, shifting sound throughout its run time, from bursts of harmony, stillness and a gorgeously explosive bridge. 

Anna Lunoe - Back Seat feat. Genesis Owusu (Chris Lorenzo Remix)

Anna Lunoe has kick started 2021 with a remix by Chris Lorenzo of her hit, ‘Back Seat’ featuring Genesis Owusu. The collaboration is a massive dose worthy of massive energy, turning the club dance hit into a big, bass filled main stage cut. 

Mitski - Love Me More

Mitski is continuing to tease her forthcoming, ‘Laurel Hell’ record, releasing ‘Love Me More’, ahead of its release on the 4th of February. The track is a disco-tinged pop number. On the track, Mitski states, “As ‘Love Me More’ was written pre-pandemic, lyrics like 'If I keep myself at home' had different meanings than what they would now, but I kept them on the album because I found that some of the sentiments not only remained the same, but were accentuated by the lockdown.”

Vlossom - Open Your Mind

Vlossom have today shared new single, ‘Open Your Mind’. The track is the first original release since their 2020 released EP ‘Open Your Mind’. The tracks underpin is a loose disco groove, given life through Whright’s breezy, whimsical vocal. 

Saba - Come My Way featuring Krayzie Bone

Chicago, rapper-producer and Pivot Gang co-founder Saba has teamed up with Krayzie Bone for new single, 'Come My Way'.  The track is taken from Saba's highly anticipated third solo record, Few Good Things, which releases on the 4th of February.