Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram
Link to our TikTok

Live Review: #TrustedForTaste Best Songs of The Week — April 30

30 April 2021 | 11:56 am | Parry Tritsiniotis

Ten new tunes you need in your life from this week including Leon Vynehall, CLYPSO, What So Not & DMAs, hearteyes and KUČKA.


Leon Vynehall

Each week, we receive countless submissions of exciting new music, so we’ll be taking you through a weekly wrap up of all our favourite new tunes every Friday called #TrustedForTaste. Follow our Spotify playlist to never miss our updates!

Plug into the latest music with our FREE weekly newsletter

Leon Vynehall - Dumbo

Electronic music legend Leon Vynehall today has released  album, 'Rare, Forever'. ‘Dumbo’ is a track that speaks for itself. Break beat drums, that ever so infectious tripped out percussion and a staggered vocal chop build the narrative of the spaced out track. On the album, the label explains, "investigating for the first time who he is as a person and artist in the very moment, instead of looking to the past for inspiration, The record incorporates techno, post-punk, ambient and drone in a less narrative-driven release with an uptick in dance floor moments.” It makes sense to cry to this one on the dancefloor. 

CLYPSO - On Our Way

CLYPSO is back with a brand new uplifting single by way of ‘On Our Way’. Produced alongside Peter Mayes of PNAU the track tackles ideas of being 100% in, whether in keeping promises, avoiding those awkward maybies and being honest in everything you do. On the track CLYPSO continues her trajectory as a rising star in Australia's indie electronic scene, morphing a grandiose beat and big basslines with a fun tropical infused sun fuelled vibe. 

Bladee and Mechatok - Drama (Charli XCX Remix)

Charli XCX has hopped on a new remix, taken from the deluxe edition of Bladee and Mechatok’s joint record, 'Good Luck'. While originally released in December last year, the trio now join forces to carry out a dissection of the classic pop formula, shifting and exploring its nuances in order to cater to contemporary audiences through production and a new killer Charli XCX delivery. 

Hiatus Kaiyote - Red Room

Grammy nominated Melbourne based group Hiatus Kaiyote have shared a new song and video from their forthcoming album, Mood Valiant, out on the 25th of June. Written while band members Paul Bender and Perrin Moss were in Rio De Janeiro in 2019 with Brazilian arranger Arthur Verocai, ‘Red Room’ channels everything we know about Hiatus Kaiyote with a new global tinge. Intimate vocals, glitzy guitar lines and that oh so perfect piano run make this track one of their most exciting releases to date. 

What So Not & DMA’s - The Change

What So Not has returned with his first single back after a year long hiatus with an absolute bang. He’s recruited Aussie favourites DMA’s and it’s not surprise it hits given their dipping into electronic music in their previous album. Emerson takes them into never before heard territory, with a breakbeat drum line, those always infectious synths. It’s a clear sonic evolution for both artists, pushing What So Not in a new electronic lane, and taking the DMA’s well outside their well known formula and god it doesn't disappoint. 


New wave hip-hop artist Sophiegrophy continues her genre bending path with a new double AA side release “Cringe / You’re the Boss”. She’s back teaming up again with NY’s Walker and Royce to create a big tech house inspired hitter. It features her trademark deep cutting bars on a warehouse ready beat. The overall product is one that highlights two sides of the same artistic coin, both perfectly built for their respective contexts. 

hearteyes - deathwish

hearteyes has released his debut single from his forthcoming mixtape, HEADBANGERS 2. The track is quite simply, headbanger worthy. Working on tropes from almost every single genre under the sun, hearteyes cutthroat delivery combines perfectly with a redlining 808. Really channeling his bad boy roots, this is an artist with a big attitude with the skills to match it. 

Róisín Murphy - Crooked Madame

Róisín Murphy has today released 'Crooked Machine', a revamp of last year’s 'Róisín Machine', produced by Crooked Man aka DJ Parrot. Highlight from the record is Crooked Madame, a groovy house extended cut. The  4/4 drum line, simple percussion and looped bass line build an all encapsulating groovy vibe. It’s 7 minutes of toe tapping, knee slapping goodness. 

Rejjie Snow - Relax

Three years since the release of his debut LP ‘Dear Annie’, Dublin raised rapper Rejjie Snow has announced the release of his sophomore album, ‘Baw Baw Black Sheep’ set to release on the 9th of July. Accompanying the announce is his vibe packed new single, ‘Relax’ featuring LA music collective grouptherapy and is produced by Cam O’bi. A head bob worthy, spacey trap beat cleverly utilises infused nature sounds and combines perfect with that classic Rejjie Snow delivery.

KUČKA - Your World

KUČKA has today shared her debut album ‘Wrestling’. On the record she binds R&B, jazz and electro to narrate the tough but fruitful transition into the person she’s become. Honest vignettes ebb the flow of the record, with honest depictions via her ever so immaculate futuristic voice. ‘Your World’ is a personal highlight, perfectly melding together the aforementioned genres, reaching its peak with that epic hook.