Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram
Link to our TikTok

Live Review: Dance legends Cut Copy announce sixth album + share new single 'Cold Water'

26 June 2020 | 2:31 pm | Emma Jones

Cut Copy have announced their sixth studio album will be out this August, and shared a glorious new single titled 'Cold Water'.

Just a few short weeks ago, we heard the first single in nearly three years from electronic pioneers, CUT COPY. Now, the four-piece are back for more good news with not only another new single out, but a new album on the way.

The forthcoming record is titled Freeze, Melt, and will be the band's sixth studio album. Due out August 21, the record looks to be heading in a slightly new direction for the band given the now two singles we have heard so far. With previously released 'Love Is All We Share' serving as a signpost for a more ambient style, 'Cold Water' follows this path as well, while still maintaining that danceable intensity that is quintessentially Cut Copy. It's an utterly beautiful song to listen to, with gentle chimes and a persistent but somewhat inviting beat tapping along. Frontman Dan Whitford's vocals soar above the pensive arrangement, and you can really feel the careful, cautious but confident sonic statement the band is making.

On the new song, Whitford said, “After extensive touring on our last album, ‘Cold Water’ was one of the first new songs to appear. I’d moved to Copenhagen and had been listening to a lot more ambient and instrumental electronic music and as a result ‘Cold Water’ felt quite different to songs we’d made in the past. It was less dance, but more atmospheric. Also the subject matter explores love in today’s context, where the climate and fate of the planet are becoming increasingly uncertain. Once we’d finished it, it felt like we'd placed a marker in the ground, guiding us in a new musical direction.”

Nineteen years in the game, Freeze, Melt is already shaping up to be a very special release indeed from the electronic legends. Check out the full tracklist and listen to 'Cold Water' below:

Plug into the latest music with our FREE weekly newsletter


1. Cold Water

2. Like Breaking Glass

3. Love Is All We Share

4. Stop, Horizon

5. Running In The Grass

6. A Perfect Day

7. Rain

8. In Transit

'Cold Water' is out now via Cutters Records, buy/stream hereFreeze, Melt is out August 21, pre-order/pre-save here.

Words by Emma Jones

Image by Tamar Levine