Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram
Link to our TikTok

Live Review: OK EG release atmospheric new EP 'Intertidal Zone', out via Wax'o Paradiso

22 July 2021 | 11:19 am | Evie Weily

'Intertidal Zone' by Naarm/Melbourne producers OK EG , marks the label’s first release, which is available now.

Well-loved Naarm/Melbourne-based DJ duo Edd Fisher and Simon TK are the team behind party purveyors WAX'O PARADISO, and today they announce the debut release on their new self-titled label. 

'Intertidal Zone' by Naarm/Melbourne producers OK EG (Lauren Squire and Matthew Wilson), marks the label’s first release, which is available now. With a stacked archive on local labels including ANIMALIA and STEEPLEJACK, OK EG redefine their deeper side and contemplate the rhythms and textures fixed in Australian landscape, including rainfall and coastline soundscapes. 

Enlisting the collaborative help of percussionist PHIL STROUD, Intertidal Zone channels OK EG’s ability to fuse drum machines, hand drums, loose percussion, human voices and tuned percussion to challenge perceptions of sound. Fostering an organic take on live instruments, the EP is a series of rhythmic works that in turn, induces a hypnotic appreciation and contemplation for the natural world. 

Intertidal Zone opens with a ‘Precipitation’, a lush ambient track that leans into ‘Intertidal Zone’ a tranquil approach that features soothing recordings immersed in water. ‘Littoral Drift’ is dense and dubwise cut, and ‘Golden Hour’ is a spacious reflection that came from an improvisation with multi-instrumentalist ADAM HALLIWELL on flute and jazz musician JACK DOEPEL on Korg bass. The digital version of Intertidal Zone also features an up-tempo remix, ‘Golden Hour (Overcast Mix), from Sydney producer COUSIN (aka Jackson Fester) which utilises a re-harmonized flute to generate refined breaks. 

Plug into the latest music with our FREE weekly newsletter

CHARLOTTE ALLDIS is the mastermind behind the cover artwork which was painted during winter in 2020, depicting regrowth following the 2019-20 Australian bushfires.

Intertidal Zone is out now via the Wax'o Paradiso Bandcamp.