Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram
Link to our TikTok

Live Review: LISTEN: Oisima ‘Jewels Of Thought’ Mixtape Two

8 April 2013 | 4:30 pm | Tom Hutchins

We seriously love the internet. We can spend hours searching for obscure Simpsons clips on YouTube, listen to exclusive mix from Adelaide beatsmith - Oisima


We seriously love the internet. Not only can we spend hours searching for obscure Simpsons clips on YouTube, we can now also listen to and download what was previously a Triple J exclusive mix from Adelaide beatsmith - OISIMA.

Oisima has released the ‘Jewels of Thought’ Mix Tape #2 for free after it’s launch last month on Triple J’s Sound Lab with Fanella Kernebone. It's a tight knit 32 minute affair, fusing together ambient hip hop, percussion and jazz influenced beats.

Plug into the latest music with our FREE weekly newsletter

Not satisfied with releasing 2 EP's last year, in 1 year, Oisima is making serious progress with his debut album - with a release date set for sometime in September this year. Now although that seems a lifetime away for us, we have word that these 'Jewels Of Thought' Mix Tapes will be released seasonly until the LP is out. So you won't have to waiting too long for some mixes laced with new and unreleased material from Oisima himself. As he gives us a chance to hear the progression of his studio work mixed with inspiringly beautiful tracks from his favorite producers.

This mix, with it's underground track list (see below) and it's hip-hop flavour; in combination with his EP's - really proves that this guy is right at the top of Australia's beats crop. Which is all the more ridiculous, once you find out that his first live show was only a year ago.

So spend 32 minutes away with Oisima. And then go back to watching The Simpsons.


  1. Christoph El Truento – Autumn
  2. Shigeto – Huron River Drive
  3. Oisima – Song For Natalie
  4. Electric Egypt – Liquid Space (Feat. Zig 16)
  5. Andrea – Work The Middle (Kyson Remix)
  6. Darryl Reeves - She Said (Dillaquarium Mixtape)
  7. Afta-1 -H(eye)LAND (Feat. Nikko Gray)
  8. Oisima – Suns Of Now
  9. Mo Kolours – Twelve
  10. Smaug – Let It Go (Oisima Rework)