Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram
Link to our TikTok

Live Review: Merci, Mercy releases new single 'Something You Like' ahead of her debut EP

6 October 2020 | 2:53 pm | Claudia Fallon

Merci, Mercy has released her newest indie-pop anthem 'Something You Like' ahead of her debut EP no thank you, no thanks set for release later this month.

Australian newcomer Merci, Mercy has released her newest indie-pop anthem 'Something You Like' ahead of her debut EP no thank you, no thanks set for release later this month. Exploring the calm and chaos of youth culture through her music, this 19-year-old up and comer is making moves in the music world releasing one successful hit after the other.

Soft and breezy, this new tune feels nostalgic and melancholic all at the same time with light keys, bright melodies, smooth guitars, and fresh vocals that feel like a breath of fresh air. Radiating soulful energy this heartfelt single melds elements that are moody and vibrant making us feel emotional yet optimistic as her lyrics encourage change in a toxic environment. Textured and effervescent this young artist bring glimmer and shine to a song that reflects on the darker moments in life. Ultimately an honest and candid ballad that explores the complexities of relationships Merci, Mercy brings forth the best in her stunning alternative sound.

Talking about the inspiration and effortlessness behind 'Something You Like' the artist said, “This song really poured out of me and was the easiest one to write on the EP. The song was written from observing toxic relationships and seeing how someone can change you without you realising. It’s my go to song to play whenever I pick up my uke.”

With the release of her previous singles ‘Fucked Myself Up’ and ‘Fall Apart‘ the singer/songwriter gained rapid success with praise from press and fans at home and abroad hailing the teen a star in the making. With the addition of 'Something You Like' these three tracks will all feature on the artist's forthcoming EP that reflects on personal experiences and observations of the bright and dark moments in life.

Plug into the latest music with our FREE weekly newsletter

Hoping to relate with listeners on an emotional level Merci, Mercy says the creative process behind her upcoming EP was incredibly cathartic, “It was quite a therapeutic process for me to write these songs and I hope they might connect with people who have been through similar experiences.”

Gracing our ears with relatable and personal music this new artist is sure to bring more sonically mesmeric tunes that leave you feeling a whirlwind of emotion. Following the blissful release of 'Something You Like', Merci, Mercy is due to release more enthralling tracks in her debut EP no thank you, no thanks set for October 16.

no thank you, no thanks EP tracklisting:

1. Tequila & Lemonade

2. Fucked Myself Up

3. Fall Apart

4. Something You Like

5. Wonder What It Feels Like

6. The Very Very End


Image: She Is Aphrodite (@sheisaphrodite)