Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram
Link to our TikTok

Live Review: Hayden James shares 13-track compilation and euphoric new single, 'Waves of Gold'

10 July 2020 | 3:26 pm | Emma Jones

Hayden James has released a 13-track compilation and a euphoric new single titled Waves of Gold.

Fresh off the back of his most recent single 'Right Time', featuring none other than ICONA POPHayden James is back with a whole stack of good news for fans today. Not only has he shared a brand new single titled 'Waves Of Gold', featuring Azteck, he has also released a 13-track compilation of the same name as well!

The compilation, Hayden James presents Waves of Gold, is a 45-minute record full of exclusives and personal favourites by both contemporaries and respected house icons. From an exclusive cut by Bob Moses to minimal and mood-setting tracks by Fideles and OCULA; songs by Barcelona’s Analog Sol and Canada’s Sultan + Shephard to UK four-to-the-floor cuts by Kisch and Low Steppa; club-ready sounds from Ferreck Dawn and Einmusik to remixes care of Gorgon City and Kevin Saunderson and a release from Cassian, Waves of Gold is an exceptional listening experience.

James said in an email to Purple Sneakers that he "wanted to create a moment for people listening... something more than just the single that they can lose themselves in during this crazy time."

"Putting together the compilation took many months searching for the right music from artists I love and follow personally. It all needed to make sense and hold the right vibe throughout. I think I've created something really special in this mix with these amazing artists. The compilation will have some familiar names for fans - 'Bob Moses, Gorgon City and Cassian' but I've also included a bunch of incredibly talented young producers that I have discovered in the process of building this compilation. My team, Future Classic and I found around 50 songs that we really loved for the compilation and had to narrow it down to what I felt told the right story and kept that vibe. For me, I can play this any time of the day and get something new out of it. I hope you guys love it."

Plug into the latest music with our FREE weekly newsletter

In regards to the 'Waves of Gold' single, he said he knew "straight away" it was special. "It's got that immediate earworm of the lyrics and vocal melody that just doesn't leave your hea," he said.

"I found myself singing it even after spending days and days at a time on the track... that's a good sign for sure! It took me quite a while to structure correctly... to make sense and keep that strong summer vibe, but once I had it I knew I was onto something. It's a little different from me but I still feel it lives in that HJ world. I had the chance to test it out at 'Beyond the Valley' on the main stage NYE which was wild. It got an immediate reaction... even months after playing it only once I had fans sending me a snippet of the song from that performance asking where they can hear it, when it's coming out etc."

To celebrate the release of “Waves Of Gold”, Hayden invites fans to join him this Saturday, July 11 at 12:00pm (AEST) for a special broadcast performance of the compilation mix in full via Chill Nation's YouTube and Future Classic's Twitch channel.


1. Waves Of Gold - Hayden James & Azteck feat. Paije

2. Hold Me Up - Bob Moses

3. The Border - Fideles

4. Summit - OCULA

5. Burn The Boats - Analog Sol

6. Kochi -  Sultan + Shepard

7. Rock With Me - Kisch feat. Syon

8. Wanna Show You - Low Steppa feat. Reigns

9. Remedy - Ferreck Dawn feat. Shyam P

10. Dune Suave - Einmusik

11. Poseidon (Gorgon City Remix) - Local Dialect

12. Can You Feel It (Kevin Saunderson Remix) - Chez Damier

13. Laps - Cassian




Words by Emma Jones

Image: Supplied