Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram
Link to our TikTok

Live Review: Alice Ivy shares her essential pre-show mix tape

23 July 2019 | 11:38 am | Caitlin Medcalf

To celebrate Alice Ivy's new single with Ecca Vandal, she's put together the essential pre-party mixtape feat. Bill Withers, Destiny's Child & more.

Over the past few years, Melbourne producer ALICE IVY has solidified herself as a staple in the Australian electronic music community.Her sound is a testament to more than just her creative ear, but also her respect for the collaborative process. She's collaborated with some of the most diverse and exciting musicians in the game, including E^ST, Charlie ThreadFlint EastwoodBertie BlackmanGeorgia van Etten and now, Ecca Vandal.

'In My Mind' is a track that Ivy calls her "favourite song she's ever written". Mashing up her collage-style of production with lush, rolling bouts of pscyhedelia and Ecca Vandal's highly distinctive vocal, the track emerges a Superorganism-esque, impactful number.

The pair also delivered a one-shot clip to accompany the track, giving us a little sneak-peek into the psychedelic, hyper-colour world Ivy and Vandal have built together. It also offers up a powerful insight into the duo's friendship, the pair having a damn good time frolicking in this technicolour dream.

Plug into the latest music with our FREE weekly newsletter

To celebrate the work's release, Ivy delivered a guest mix for our show on FBi Radio last weekend. The mix, dubbed 'The Essential Pre-Party Mix Tape' features every track you'll ever need to get this damn party started. We're talking Bill WithersDestiny's ChildLuke Million and to round it all out, Riton's take on her track 'Close To You'.

You can listen back to the mix in full below. Be sure to tune into Purple Sneakers on FBi Radio every Saturday night from 5-6PM locally at 94.5FM or DAB+ or stream online at


Bill Withers - Lovely Day

Dela - Won't Do (Feat. Miles Bonny)

Sampa The Great - Final Form

Destiny's Child - Girl

J Dilla - So Far To Go (Feat. Common & D'Angelo)

Hiatus Kaiyote - The World Softly As It Lulls (Dan Marshall Flip)

Roots Manuva - Witness (1 Hope)

Luke Million - Arnold

Kylie Minogue - Love At First Site

Alice Ivy - Close To You (Riton Remix)

Photo by Laura Roberts