Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram
Link to our TikTok

Zion Garcia, xo, They Hate Change + More Lead Line-Up for Phoenix Central Park Season X

20 September 2023 | 10:05 am | Jessie Lynch

Running from Thursday, October 5, to Tuesday, December 12, the iconic Sydney venue is set to host an impressive lineup of both local and international talents.

They Hate Change, Zion Garcia, xo

They Hate Change, Zion Garcia, xo (Supplied)

More Zion Garcia More Zion Garcia

Chippendale’s Phoenix Central Park is gearing up for its monumental Season X, which is set to celebrate a decade of outstanding performances.

Running from Thursday, October 5, to Tuesday, December 12, the iconic Sydney venue is set to host an impressive lineup of both local and international talents, including Mildlife, the world premiere of MOUNTAIN: Clark (UK) x Melanie Lane, x/o (Canada & Germany), Abyss X (Greece), Omega Ensemble, Ngulmiya, They Hate Change (USA) and many more.

Tickets to Season X remain free via ballot entry in 2023, which you can enter here.

The festivities kick off on Wednesday, October 5, with Australia’s internationally acclaimed chamber music ensemble, Omega Ensemble, taking the stage for an evening of high-energy performances that have reinvented the world of classic music with every appearance.

A highlight on October 12 will be Zion Garcia, a Western Sydney-based rapper, producer, filmmaker, and writer known for his infectious cadences and lyrical prowess, while Melbourne’s Midlife will grace the stage on October 25, bringing their signature mix of jazz, krautrock, and demon grooves to Phoenix Central Park.

Then, October 27 will see New York-based, Adelaide-raised, genre-bending jazz pianist and composer, Matthew Sheens will return home to perform what’s undoubtedly going to be a high-energy show.

Plug into the latest music with our FREE weekly newsletter

The program continues with a diverse range of acts including the world premiere of MOUNTAIN on November 1-4, Nat Bartsch on November 9 with a jazz-post-rock re-interpretation, and Vietnamese-Canadian electronic music producer x/o on November 14.

Additionally, there will also be performances by xmunashe on November 16, Abyss X on November 23, Edge of a Cloud on November 28, and Ngulmiya on November 30.

US hip-hop duo They Hate Change will also make their Australian debut on December 7, offering a blend of influences from various music genres, while visionary musician and vocalist Evita Manji, known for their experimental production, classical composition, and pop-inspired vocals, will close out Season X on December 12.

Phoenix Central Park's Creative Director, Beau Neilson, said of the forthcoming festivities: "Season X represents the culmination of two years of uninterrupted programming. Over this time, we have seen Phoenix emerge as a trusted discovery platform, which promotes curiosity, diversity, inclusivity and connection.”

“The lineup we have curated for this Season reflects our sustained commitment to presenting an engaging cross-section of arts and music from Australia and abroad."

Since its inception in 2020, Phoenix Central Park has established itself as a premier performance space in Sydney, hosting intimate shows by globally acclaimed artists. Free tickets for all Season X performances will be allocated through Phoenix's ballot process, ensuring equal access to these highly sought-after events.

Check out below for all the info on Season X at Phoenix Central Park.






  • Omega Ensemble - Thursday, 5 October

  • Zion Garcia - Thursday, 12 October

  • Mildlife - Wednesday, 25 October

  • Matthew Sheens - Friday, 27 October

  • MOUNTAIN: Clark x Melanie Lane - Wednesday, 1 November - Saturday, 4 November

  • Nat Bartsch - Thursday, 9 November

  • x/o - Tuesday, 14 November

  • xmunashe - Thursday, 16 November

  • Abyss X - Thursday, 23 November

  • Edge of a Cloud - Tuesday, 28 November

  • Ngulmiya - Thursday, 30 November

  • They Hate Change - Thursday, 7 December

  • Evita Manji - Tuesday, 12 December