Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram
Link to our TikTok

Jorja Smith releases new single 'Gone' and announces forthcoming new project

20 April 2021 | 1:39 pm | Emma Jones

Jorja Smith has announced a brand new project is on the way titled 'Be Right Back', and shared a new single to celebrate titled 'Gone'.

The ever-amazing Jorja Smith has a whole stack of good news for fans this week. Hot on the heels of her new single, 'Addicted', she's released another new tune titled 'Gone'. It's more of that classic Jorja vibe we've fallen head over heels for: raw, intimate, bold and commanding, with her glorious voice shining over a shuffling beat and warm, gentle keys.

Not only that, but she's confirmed there is a new project on the way. Comprised of eight tracks, including 'Addicted' and 'Gone', the project is titled Be Right Back. While it's not to be confused with an actual, official album, the diverse collection of songs is still said to be a cohesive body of work which will showcase some of Smith's most emotive and imaginative songs yet.

Smith said of the forthcoming project, “There’s something about being able to write about one thing and for it to mean so many different things to others. I love that this song, well any of my songs really, will be interpreted in different ways, depending on the experiences of the people listening. This one is just me asking why people have to be taken from us.”

She also explained the title, saying, “It’s called be right back because it’s just something I want my fans to have right now, this isn’t an album and these songs wouldn’t have made it. If I needed to make these songs, then someone needs to hear them too.”

Plug into the latest music with our FREE weekly newsletter

Jorja Smith's career continues to evolve with each and every move she makes. From the release of her debut album, Lost & Found in 2018, she's found acclaim in fans and critics alike and has picked up nominations from the likes of the 2019 Mercury Prize and the 2019 GRAMMYs for Best New Artist. In that same year, she won her second BRIT Award for ‘Best Female’. More recently, she's teamed up with Burna Boy in 2019 for 'Be Honest', her biggest single to date, and FAMM-signee ENNY for a remix of 'Peng Black Girls'.

Be Right Back is set for release May 14th, via Jorja's own label, FAMM. Listen to 'Gone' below:


1. Addicted

2. Gone

3. Bussdown feat. Shaybo

4. Time

5. Home

6. Burn

7. Digging

8. Weekend

'Gone' is out now via FAMM. Buy/stream here. Be Right Back is out May 14. Pre-order/pre-save here.

Words by Emma Jones

Image: Supplied