Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram
Link to our TikTok

Listen back to Bonobo's and Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs' stellar Essential Mix

2 December 2020 | 3:27 pm | Staff Writer

Bonobo and Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs follow up the release of their collaborative 12" with a blissful two hour Essential Mix.

Fresh off the release of their collaborative 12" 'Heartbreak/6000 Ft', Bonobo and Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs have now both stepped up to the plate to offer up a blissful, stellar Essential Mix. The two hours of power are unsurprisingly brilliant, serving as a masterclass from the pair as well as further justification why their collaborative music sounds so god damn good.

Complete with plenty of unreleased material as well as tracks from Honey Dijon, O'Flynn, AceMo, K-Lone and many more, this Essential Mix follows a string of absolutely stellar additions to the longstanding, iconic mix series, including one from none other than Jamie xx earlier this year.

The 'Heartbreak' 12" is the first release off Bonobo's own label, OUTLIER. Formed in partnership with Ninja Tune, the label expands on the series of club shows and festival stage takeovers under that same banner. The new imprint will “reflect the more club focused side of what I’m building with OUTLIER” Bonobo explains. “‘Heartbreak’ seems like a good starting point and was the track that became the catalyst to start the label. One for the dance floors in a time when they’re dearly missed.”

The mix, which aired a few weeks ago, has now been uploaded to Soundcloud. Dive into it below and check out the impressive tracklist beneath the player!

Plug into the latest music with our FREE weekly newsletter


Enigma – The Voice Of Enigma [Polydor/Island]

K-Lone – Bluefin [Wisdom Teeth]

Bufiman – Apo-Calypso [Rhythm Trax]

Daniel Avery – Lone Swordsman [Mute]

Bonobo – Tallinn [Unreleased]

O’Flynn – Seamstress (Dan Shake Remix) [OUTLIER]

Hiatt dB – 6 O’clock Rock [Silverbear Recordings]

Flaurese – Sake Of Lust [Rhythm Section]

Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs – Emerald Dub [eOne]

Austin Ato – Tony [Pantai People]

Jared Wilson – Seeing Is Forgetting [030303 Records]

A Certain Ratio – Yo Yo Gi [Mute]

Honey Dijon – Not About You (KDA ‚Legacy‘ Extended Remix) [Classic Music Company]

Master Plan – Pushin‘ Too Hard (Gerd Janson Instrumix) [Running Back]

Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs – A L’cart (Demo) [Unreleased]

Unknown – DEX [Cobra Edits]

Bonobo – Untitled [Unreleased]

Dancing People – Afe Ate Yen Bio (XOA & HWRD Edit) [Bolting Bits]

Marc Mac – In The Jungle [Co-operation Recordings]

Pot – Natives [OUTLIER]

Amampondo & Dizu Plaatjies – Mawethu [Mountain Records]

Joeski – Tierra Linda [Maya Records]

Tibi – Komorebi (David Morales Diridim Mix) [Crosstown Rebels]

Haider – The Oven Door Broke [Warehouse Music]

Ludwig A.F. – Blissful Lie [Exo Recordings]

Prescibe Da Vibe – Nothing’s The Same [Kiwi Rekords]

Anz – Loos In Twos [Hessle Audio]

Al Woolton – Ender [Livity Sound]

Pearson Sound – Alien Mode [Hessle Audio]

AceMo – Heaven [HAUS of ALTR]

Hugo Massien – Outer Space Jam [E-Beamz]

Unbelievable – Light Weights [HERAS]

Skream – TEED dub [Unreleased]

Rival Consoles – Sudden Awareness Of Now [Erased Tapes Records]

Lxury – Memphis [Shall Not Fade]

O’Flynn – Mesablanca (O’Flynn & Ekhe Dub) [Silver Bear Recordings]

Black Girl / White Girl – 5XXXI [Super Rhythm Trax]

Elliot Adamson – Love Lifted [IDEA]

Ossie – Fuego [Club Bad]

Liquid Dope – Terra Humana (Air Beats) (Henry Street) with Class Action – Weekend [Sleeping Bag Records]

Bonobo & Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs – Heartbreak [OUTLIER]

Shadow Child – Have You Seen Mr G [Shall Not Fade]

Darkstar – Text (Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs Remix) [Warp]

Al Zanders – Long Gone [Blind Jacks Journey]

Words by Emma Jones

Image: Grant Spanier