Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram
Link to our TikTok

Missy Elliott, Kate Bush & More To Be Inducted Into The Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame

4 May 2023 | 12:21 pm | Mary Varvaris

Missy Elliott is the first female rapper to be inducted in the Rock Hall's history.

(Source: Supplied)

More Missy Elliott More Missy Elliott

Missy Elliott and Kate Bush are among the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame class of 2023, with Elliott making history as the first female rapper to be inducted.

Joining them for the ceremony that will occur at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn on Friday, 3 November, is Rage Against The Machine, Sheryl Crow, George Michael, Willie Nelson and The Spinners.

It’s a monumental moment for Elliott, who is being inducted in her first year of eligibility.

The Work It rapper reacted to the news on Twitter: "I want to say this is HUGE not for just me but all my Sisters in HIPHOP this door is now OPEN to showcase the hard work & what many of us contribute to MUSIC. I have cried all morning because I am GRATEFUL thank you Rock Hall & all on the committee & Supafriends (sic)."

Bush made a statement to Rolling Stone after news of her induction in her third year of eligibility was revealed: "I have to admit I'm completely shocked at the news of being inducted into the Hall of Fame! It's something I just never thought would happen.

“Thank you so much to everyone who voted for me. It means a great deal that you would think of me. It's such a huge honour. Now, as part of the initiation ceremony, I get to find out about the secret handshake... there is one, right?"

Plug into the latest music with our FREE weekly newsletter

As well as the two pioneering artists in hip-hop and pop music, the nu-metallers, country artist, pop singer and R&B group, the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame will also induct Chaka Khan and Elton John’s songwriter, Bernie Taupin, for the Musical Excellence Award alongside producer Al Kooper.

The rock guitarist Link Wray and DJ Kool Herc will be honoured with the Musical Influence Award, while Soul Train's Don Cornelius will posthumously receive the Ahmet Ertegun Award.

Last year’s Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame inductees were Duran Duran, Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo, Eurythmics, Eminem, Carly Simon, Dolly Parton, and Lionel Richie. 

Meanwhile, Judas Priest and Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis won the Musical Excellence Award. Harry Belafonte and Elizabeth Cotten received the Early Influence Award.

At the same time, Jimmy Iovine, Allen Grubman, and Sylvia Robinson won the Ahmet Ertegun Award for non-performing musical professionals who influenced rock and roll music.