Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram
Link to our TikTok

Flying Lotus Announces ‘You’re Dead’ LP

19 August 2014 | 5:52 pm | Caitlin Medcalf

Flying Lotus’ upcoming release ‘You’re Dead’ will be nothing short of stunning, particularly as the artist finds a conceptual connection to the work.

Experimental electronica, hip hop and everything in between at its best is what FLYING LOTUS is most renowned for. His brand of music has taken him to all corners of the world, performing to and for crowds of many.

As innovative as LA’s Steven Ellison AKA FLYING LOTUS could be, is it really possible for him to follow up with the likes of Cosmogramma being a part of his extensive back catalogue? Some claim that Cosmogramma was a part of the beginning of the beat renaissance that continues to become more and more prominent to date.

FLYING LOTUS’ upcoming release titled ‘You’re Dead’ will be nothing short of this continuation of innovation, particularly as the artist finds a conceptual connection to the work.

Plug into the latest music with our FREE weekly newsletter

An ode to those who have passed, those who have experienced a death, and all who will face death, ‘You’re Dead’ is a psychedelic trip into the turmoil and enigmatic nature of the content of death, most particularly, what happens after death. The technical arrangement amounts excitingly to the transcending and almost miraculous feel that FLYING LOTUS tends to create.

“The album isn’t about the end, it’s really the beginning. It’s a celebration of the next experience. It’s the transition and the confusion. It’s not ‘hey you’re dead.’ It’s ‘hey you’re dead!’” – Flying Lotus

Want a taste? The visually haunting, yet mesmerising teaser definitely left me in awe.

‘You’re Dead’ will be out on the 3rd of October through Warp Records.


1. Theme

2. Tesla

3. Cold Dead

4. Fkn Dead

5. Never Catch Me (Ft. Kendrick Lamar)

6. Dead Man's Tetris (Ft. Captain Murphy & Snoop Dogg)

7. Turkey Dog Coma

8. Stirring

9. Coronus, the Terminator

10. Siren Song (Ft. Angel Deradoorian)

11. Turtles

12. Ready err Not

13. Eyes Above

14. Moment of Hesitation

15. Descent Into Madness (Ft. Thundercat)

16. The Boys Who Died in Their Sleep (Ft. Captain Murphy)

17. Obligatory Cadence

18. Your Potential//The Beyond (Ft. Niki Randa)

19. The Protest