Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram
Link to our TikTok

Triple J Announces 2022 J Award Nominees

1 November 2022 | 2:49 pm | Emma Whines

Ausmusic Month kicks off with a bang!

More Flume More Flume

Triple J has announced the nominees for this year's J Awards, selecting a killer list of Aus music makers that have defined the landscape over this past year. 

Spanning five categories, the J Awards help champion the best in Australian music, with this year's nominees including Flume, Julia Jacklin, King Stingray, Spacey Jane and more. Sampa The Great and King Stingray picked up two nominations for Album of the Year and Double J Artist of the Year, while Flume picked up two noms for Album of the Year and Music Video of the Year for his single Say Nothing feat. MAY-A.

Last year, Genesis Owusu made scored wins, taking out Album of the Year for his debut Smiling With No Teeth and Music Video of the Year for his single The Other Black Dog (directed by Riley Blakeway). Other winners included The Avalanches, who took out Double J's Artist of the Year award, King Stingray, who won Unearthed's Artist of the Year award and Jaguar Jonze for the Done Good Award celebrating her advocacy and support for abuse survivors.

Heading into its 18th year, The J Award nominee announcement kicks off the bonanza of Ausmusic Month, which sees triple j champion Australian music through different initiatives, from hero-ing local legends over their radio programs to the iconic Ausmusic T-shirt day that is beloved across the industry.

This year's winners will be revealed throughout the day on Thursday, Nov 17, across triple j, triple j Unearthed and Double J. 

For a full list of nominees, see below. 

Plug into the latest music with our FREE weekly newsletter


triple j Australian Album of the Year

Eliza & The Delusionals – Now & Then

Flume - Palaces

Gang Of Youths – angel in realtime.

Julia Jacklin – PRE PLEASURE

King Stingray – King Stingray

Meg Mac – Matter Of Time

Northlane - Obsidian

Sampa The Great – As Above, So Below

Spacey Jane – Here Comes Everybody

Stand Atlantic – f.e.a.r.

Double J Australian Artist of the Year

Courtney Barnett


King Stingray

Midnight Oil

Sampa The Great

Unearthed Artist of the Year

Elsy Wameyo



South Summit


triple j and rage Australian Music Video of the Year

1300 – ‘Oldboy’ Dir. Raghav Rampal

Confidence Man – ‘Holiday’ Dir. W.A.M. Bleakley

Flume– ‘Say Nothing [Ft. MAY-A]’ Dir. Michael Hili

Party Dozen– ‘Macca The Mutt [Ft. Nick Cave]’ Dir. VERSUS (Tanya Babic & Jason Sukadana)

RONA.– ‘Closure [Ft. Helena]’ Dir. Dylan River

Done Good Award

David Herington:  Unsung legend, assisting flood-affected communities

Eliza Hull: Muso & inclusion and access advocate for people with a disability  

Jake Taylor (In Hearts Wake):  Fighting for climate action through music and film

Kobie Dee:  Enriching First Nations communities on tour, in workshops and podcasts

Raising Their Voices:  For their landmark report on industry sexual harassment and discrimination